US Gov’t Requires Fifteen African Countries to Pay Bonds up to $15,000 Dollars to Secure Tourist Visas

An Executive Order signed by the Trump Administration in Washington Tuesday, November 24, citizens of over twenty countries around the world shall have to pay bonds varying from $5000 through $10,000 to $15,000 before being issued the B1/B2 visas. The Order specifies that the amount of the bond shall be determined by the Consular Officers at the time of determination of the case of the prospective tourist visa applicants before them.

According to the US Department of State, these requirements are meant to send a message to some countries of the world to encourage their citizens to respect the conditions of their US visas. Officials at the Department of State said they selected countries whose citizens have high rates of remaining in the US after their visas have expired.

The fifteen African countries concerned are Angola, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cape Verde, Chad, Democratic Republic of Congo (Kinshasa), Djibouti, Eritrea, The Gambia, Guinea-Bissau, Liberia, Libya, Mauritania, Sao Tome and Principe and Sudan. These countries are in the first batch of states in Africa are targeted by the new measure.

The other countries are Papua New Guinea, Afghanistan, Bhutan, Burma, Iran, Laos, Syria, and Yemen.